Popular 4 Nights / 5 DaysSrinagar · Sonmarg · Gulmarg · Pahalgam
Kashmir Classic
- 1-night deluxe houseboat on Dal Lake
- Sonmarg excursion to Thajiwas Glacier
From₹13,800per person · twin sharing

Cabs & taxis
This page helps you book the car: the fare, the vehicle that fits your group, what the price leaves out and which legs of a Sonmarg day a Srinagar taxi does not drive. We are the TDI Holiday Ventures planning desk in Srinagar. We have no published TDI rate card for this route, so every fare here is a market range from public pages, labelled that way.
Last verified 25 October 2026
The fare table after these sections gives a typical range per vehicle for a one-way drop, a same-day return and an airport transfer. No page prints a tariff signed by an authority, and they disagree, even with themselves: Travel My Kashmir's taxi page lists a sedan from ₹3,000 and its Sonmarg guide ₹3,300. Triveni Cabs prints a sedan from ₹1,800, with tolls and state tax extra at actuals. Read each figure as an asking price. Three things move it:
The pages differ. Travel My Kashmir lists GST, tolls, state taxes, driver allowance and fuel, plus up to an hour of free waiting at Sonmarg on round trips; Via Kashmir lists the driver and tolls; Triveni Cabs says tolls and state tax are extra at actuals. eTourismKashmir leaves out hours beyond the package, extra detours, the union cab in Sonmarg, pony, sledge and ATV rides, rafting and meals, and prints waiting at ₹200 to ₹400 an hour. Ask for each item, and whether it is per vehicle, in writing.
The road follows the Srinagar to Leh highway through Ganderbal and Kangan; Travel My Kashmir puts Ganderbal at 15 km, Kangan at 35 km and Gagangir at 60 km. Sources disagree on the length: District Ganderbal says 87 km from Srinagar and about 102 km from the airport; Via Kashmir, Triveni Cabs and Travel Coffee about 80 km; Travel My Kashmir 80 to 82 km; and the J&K Tourism Development Corporation's page, marked 2017, about 110 km.
On time, District Ganderbal says under 3 hours and operators 2 to 3.5. We plan on about 3 hours, the figure our package itineraries use, so a same-day return spends about 6 hours in the car (our arithmetic). The Z-Morh tunnel, about 6.5 km on the Srinagar to Sonmarg highway, was inaugurated on 13 January 2025; The Tribune (PTI) reported speeds of up to 70 km/h in it against 30 km/h on the earlier road.
From Srinagar airport (SXR) or a Srinagar address; give the pickup point when you ask for a quote. Our airport taxi page says the driver waits at arrivals with a name board and that a delayed flight moves the pickup at no extra charge. From the airport, Travel My Kashmir gives 2.5 to 3.5 hours and eTourismKashmir 2.5 to 4; see our how to reach Kashmir guide for trains and flights.
Usually not the whole way. District Ganderbal's tourism page, last updated 19 January 2023, says ‘Private vehicles are not allowed. Visitors have to hire taxi.’ without saying where. Travel My Kashmir says a Srinagar taxi serves your Sonmarg hotel or base and that Thajiwas and Zero Point need a separate approved local cab; Travel Coffee says the checkpoint will turn back a Srinagar cab at Zero Point. The fare table has the Zero Point range, ₹4,000 to ₹7,000 for one vehicle. IANS reported on 1 June 2023 that the Ganderbal administration fixed rates for Sonmarg to Zero Point taxis and set up a prepaid taxi stand and a pony stand, without giving amounts, so ask for the rate board at the stand.
There is no taxi leg on the trail. Travel Coffee says no vehicles are allowed on it: you walk about 3 km (1.5 to 2 hours each way) or take a pony (about 45 minutes to an hour each way). The Kashmir Walla reported on 19 November 2022 that the Sonmarg Development Authority had banned vehicle movement toward the Thajwas glacier area, citing court directions from 2017, though eTourismKashmir prices a local vehicle to the Thajiwas base at ₹1,500 to ₹3,000, so ask whether a local cab drops you at the trailhead. The pony is paid on the spot: Travel Coffee gives ₹700 to ₹1,500 per person for about 3 km. Travel My Kashmir's table, headed ‘Government approved rates’ for 2024-25 with no authority named, prints ₹1,350 for Thajwas (5 km) and ₹1,650 for the Glacier (7 km). Neither page is an official rate card, so confirm the price at the stand. Kashmir Reader reported on 16 February 2026 that Thajwas Glacier was among 14 destinations reopened after a security review. See also our pony ride page.
Travel Coffee says the tunnel now gives year-round vehicle access to the town, but the glacier trail and Zero Point can be shut by deep snow, with full access from May to September. Kashmir Life says the tunnel provides all-weather access, and a resident told PTI that before it the area ‘remained cut off for four months due to snow’. Nobody can promise the road or the trail on your dates, so check the Traffic Police advisories; our December and January guides cover the season and our winter and snow packages the options.
During the 2026 Amarnath Yatra the Traffic Police changed the afternoon rules; check the advisory for the year you travel. The advisory for 2 July to 28 August 2026, as Kashmir Life reported it on 30 June 2026, applied to yatris, yatra convoys and tourists: no yatri or tourist vehicle to travel from Sonmarg towards Srinagar after 4:00 pm, and Valley travel advised only between 7:00 am and 6:00 pm. We found no 2027 dates as of 25 October 2026; see our Amarnath guide.
Sonmarg sits on the Srinagar to Leh highway. The J&K Tourism Development Corporation puts Zoji La 20 km east of Sonmarg at 3,540 m; our Ladakh page gives 3,528 m. A Sonmarg day trip and a Ladakh road trip are separate bookings: our Srinagar to Ladakh taxi page describes the 434 km drive as two days with a halt in Kargil and names June to September as the best window; see also the Ladakh guide and the Srinagar to Leh Tempo Traveller page for groups.
Our 4N/5D Kashmir Classic and 5N/6D Explorer both treat Sonmarg as an excursion from Srinagar: a drive of about 3 hours, a short pony or on-foot walk to Thajiwas Glacier (pony paid directly) and a return to Srinagar by evening. The Classic starts from ₹13,800 per person (twin sharing, ex-Srinagar) for two travellers, ₹10,650 for four and ₹9,490 for six; the Explorer from ₹15,900, ₹12,400 and ₹11,320, as on the package pages. For a taxi alone see our Kashmir taxi packages and Kashmir taxi service. To stay the night, read our hotels in Sonmarg guide; for the place itself, the Sonmarg guide.
Send the date, pickup point, number of travellers, bags, preferred vehicle and whether you want a one-way drop, a same-day return or a night in Sonmarg through our contact page or WhatsApp; the contact page says replies come within 30 working minutes, 7am to 11pm IST. For the other day routes see our Srinagar to Gulmarg and Srinagar to Pahalgam taxi pages.
Indicative market range from public operator pages, checked 25 October 2026. TDI confirms the exact fare on WhatsApp before you book., drive time about 2 to 3.5 hours.
| Vehicle | Seats | Basis | Typical range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sedan (Swift Dzire, Etios or Amaze)eTourismKashmir 2,800 to 3,800 (stated as a one-way drop); Vargis Khan 2,400 to 3,000 in its route table and 3,000 for a drop; Tripmore 2,800 (Etios) and 2,900 (Dzire) and Via Kashmir 2,900, basis not stated; Travel My Kashmir 3,000 ('from') and 3,300. Triveni Cabs prints a sedan 'from' 1,800 (its FAQ 1,800 to 2,200) with tolls and state tax extra at actuals, so it is outside the range | 4 | One way, Srinagar to Sonmarg | ₹2,400 to ₹3,800 |
| Sedan (Swift Dzire, Etios or Amaze)eTourismKashmir 3,800 to 5,500 (8 to 10 hours, about 180 to 220 km of use); Vargis Khan 4,055 and says to add 500 to 800 to a one-way fare for waiting and fuel | 4 | Same-day return, with waiting | ₹3,800 to ₹5,500 |
| Sedan (Swift Dzire, Etios or Amaze)Vargis Khan 2,600 to 3,000; Travel My Kashmir 3,500. Neither says one way or return. Triveni Cabs prints 2,000 to 3,500 for a cab from the airport without naming a vehicle, tolls and state tax extra | 4 | Airport (SXR) to Sonmarg transfer | ₹2,600 to ₹3,500 |
| Innova, Ertiga or ScorpioVargis Khan 3,200 to 3,800 (SUV); Via Kashmir 3,300 (Innova) and 3,600 (Xylo or Tavera); Tripmore 3,300 (Innova); Travel My Kashmir 3,900 ('from'); eTourismKashmir 3,500 to 5,000 (Ertiga or Scorpio). Triveni Cabs prints 2,500 to 3,000 for an SUV, tolls and state tax extra, so it is outside the range | 7 | One way, Srinagar to Sonmarg | ₹3,200 to ₹5,000 |
| Innova, Ertiga or ScorpioeTourismKashmir only (Ertiga or Scorpio, 8 to 10 hours) | 7 | Same-day return, with waiting | ₹5,500 to ₹7,500 |
| Innova or SUVVargis Khan 3,500 to 4,200 (SUV); Travel My Kashmir 4,000 (Innova). Basis not stated by either page | 7 | Airport (SXR) to Sonmarg transfer | ₹3,500 to ₹4,200 |
| Innova CrystaTripmore 3,700 (does not say one way or return); Via Kashmir 3,850; eTourismKashmir 4,500 to 6,200. Three pages list this vehicle | 7 | One way, Srinagar to Sonmarg | ₹3,700 to ₹6,200 |
| Innova CrystaeTourismKashmir only (8 to 10 hours) | 7 | Same-day return, with waiting | ₹6,500 to ₹8,800 |
| Tempo TravellerVia Kashmir 5,000 ('starting', 14 seats) and 5,250 (17 seats); Travel My Kashmir 6,000 ('from'). Triveni Cabs prints 4,500 to 5,500 (12 seats, tolls and state tax extra), so it is outside the range. Operators do not split 8, 14 and 17 seats consistently | - | One way, Srinagar to Sonmarg (basis not stated by most pages) | ₹5,000 to ₹6,000 |
| Tempo TravellerVargis Khan 7,500; eTourismKashmir 9,500 to 14,500 (12 to 17 seats). The two differ widely | - | Same-day return, with waiting | ₹7,500 to ₹14,500 |
| Tempo TravellerTravel My Kashmir only; basis not stated | - | Airport (SXR) to Sonmarg transfer | ₹6,500 |
| Local union cab: Zero Point (Zojila) from Sonmarg towneTourismKashmir 4,000 to 7,000 (depends on season and vehicle size); Travel Coffee 5,000 to 7,000 per vehicle, not per person; Travel My Kashmir 4,000 for 54 km there and back, no vehicle type named | - | Return from Sonmarg town, one vehicle | ₹4,000 to ₹7,000 |
| Pony to Thajiwas Glacier (paid directly, not a taxi fare)Travel Coffee 700 to 1,500 per person for about 3 km, set by the local pony union; Travel My Kashmir's table, headed 'Government approved rates' for 2024-25 with no authority, unit or direction named, prints 1,350 for Thajwas (5 km) and 1,650 for the Glacier (7 km). Neither is an official rate card, so confirm the price at the stand | - | Per person, per Travel Coffee; whether this covers the return is not stated | ₹700 to ₹1,500 |
Sources: eTourismKashmir, Srinagar to Sonmarg taxi fare (one-way and same-day return ranges, union rules, Zero Point; says it reflects conditions through 2025), Via Kashmir, Srinagar to Sonamarg cab (fixed and starting fares, about 80 km, about 2 h 30 min; no page date), Tripmore, Srinagar to Sonmarg taxi fare (title says 2026, an FAQ heading says 2024; no page date), Travel My Kashmir, Srinagar to Sonmarg taxi (from-fares, inclusions, route; no printed page date), Travel My Kashmir, Sonmarg guide (fare table headed 2026, Sonamarg local taxi rates 2026, pony rates headed 2024-25), Vargis Khan, Srinagar taxi rates 2026-2027 (travel blog; its text says updated November 2025), Triveni Cabs, how to reach Sonamarg from Srinagar (page says last updated 14 September 2026; tolls and state tax extra at actuals), Travel Coffee, Sonamarg guide (last reviewed June 2026; union taxi rule, Zero Point and pony ranges).
No official tariff was found. Operators define one-way, same-day return and airport trips differently and several do not say which they mean, so compare the Basis column, not only the numbers. The pages carry no uniform date: Triveni Cabs says it was updated on 14 September 2026, Travel Coffee's places guide says last reviewed June 2026, Vargis Khan's text says updated November 2025, eTourismKashmir says its figures reflect conditions through 2025, Tripmore's title says 2026 but an FAQ heading on the same page says 2024, and Via Kashmir and Travel My Kashmir's taxi page print no date. The Zero Point and pony rows come from commercial pages and none is an official rate card, so read the board at the Sonmarg taxi stand before you pay.
Facts last verified 25 October 2026. Conditions, fares and rules change: confirm anything that affects your booking with us on WhatsApp before you pay.
Most pages, checked 25 October 2026, give about ₹2,400 to ₹3,800 one way for a sedan and ₹3,200 to ₹5,000 for an Innova, Ertiga or Scorpio. Three list an Innova Crysta (₹3,700 to ₹6,200) and three a Tempo Traveller (₹5,000 to ₹6,000 on Via Kashmir and Travel My Kashmir; Triveni Cabs lower at ₹4,500 to ₹5,500). Triveni also prints a sedan at ₹1,800 to ₹2,200 and an SUV at ₹2,500 to ₹3,000, tolls and state tax extra at actuals. Market ranges, not a TDI tariff.
District Ganderbal says under 3 hours for 87 km; operator pages give 2 to 3.5 hours and about 80 km. Our package itineraries use about 3 hours. Add time for stops, the pony ride and Zero Point.
On eTourismKashmir's figures a same-day sedan return (₹3,800 to ₹5,500) runs about ₹1,000 to ₹1,700 above the one-way fare (₹2,800 to ₹3,800), our arithmetic, well under double. Travel My Kashmir says round trips usually run at 80 to 90 per cent of double. Ask whether waiting is included.
Operators say it brings you to Sonmarg town and your hotel, and that Zero Point needs a local union cab (₹4,000 to ₹7,000 per vehicle on three commercial pages). Thajiwas is a walk or pony ride of about 3 to 5 km (pages differ); pages also differ on whether a local cab takes you to the trailhead.
Vargis Khan lists a sedan at ₹2,600 to ₹3,000 and an SUV at ₹3,500 to ₹4,200; Travel My Kashmir ₹3,500 for a sedan, ₹4,000 for an Innova and ₹6,500 for a Tempo Traveller; Triveni Cabs ₹2,000 to ₹3,500 for a cab. The airport is about 87 to 102 km away; allow 2.5 to 4 hours.
The Z-Morh tunnel was inaugurated on 13 January 2025 (Kashmir Life). Travel Coffee says it gives year-round vehicle access to Sonmarg town, while the glacier trail and Zero Point can be shut by deep snow. Nobody can promise the road on a given day; check the Traffic Police advisories before you travel.
The pages disagree: eTourismKashmir says ₹300 to ₹500 per seat and that shared cabs often end at Kangan or Gund, so you may change vehicles; Vargis Khan's blog prints ₹150 to ₹200 in its text and ₹600 to ₹800 in its route table.
Related
In their own words
Short video reviews recorded by travellers during and after their trips.




Free custom quote
Chat with our Kashmiri travel experts. No pressure, just honest advice from a team rooted here for generations — a custom itinerary and price within 30 minutes.
Free custom quote · Step 1 of 2
Enquiring about: Srinagar to Sonmarg Taxi: Fare, Time and Vehicles