Quick Escape 3 Nights / 4 DaysSrinagar · Gulmarg · Pahalgam
Kashmir Quick Getaway
- 1-night deluxe houseboat on Dal Lake with shikara ride
- Full-day Gulmarg excursion with gondola views
From₹11,950per person · twin sharing

Cabs & taxis
This page helps you book the car: what the fare is, which vehicle fits, what it leaves out and what changes on the Tangmarg road in winter. We are the TDI Holiday Ventures planning desk in Srinagar. We have not published a TDI rate card for this route, so every fare here is a market range from public operator pages and one travel blog, labelled that way.
Last verified 25 October 2026
The fare table after the sections below gives a typical range per vehicle for a one-way drop, a same-day return (Charzan Holidays' 'Round Trip (Day)' column; whether waiting time is included is not stated) and an airport transfer, and names the pages behind it. Travel Coffee says operators set these fares, not the government, and the Vargis Khan travel blog says there is no enforced rate list as such. Read each figure as an asking price for a car with a driver. Three things move the number:
One list has no stated basis. Travel My Kashmir's 2026 fares are ₹2,999 for a sedan, ₹3,500 for a Scorpio, ₹4,000 for an Innova, ₹4,600 for an Innova Crysta and ₹6,000 for a Tempo Traveller, without saying one way or return. Its Innova and Crysta figures sit above our one-way ranges, so ask whether the return is included. Triveni Cabs prints lower one-way fares (₹2,650 Ertiga, ₹2,980 Crysta), but the same page mentions a 300 km minimum billing and shows ₹3,300 for a sedan in its fare calculator, so we kept them out of the Innova, Ertiga and Crysta ranges; ask what you will be billed. Vargis Khan's travel blog lists ₹2,000 to ₹2,800 for a sedan with no one-way or return label, so we left it out of the one-way ranges too.
Travel My Kashmir and Triveni Cabs name the driver's allowance and fuel as the base; after that the lists diverge. Via Kashmir lists tolls as included, Triveni Cabs' one-way page lists tolls, parking and inter-state tax as extras at actuals, and Travel My Kashmir excludes activities and park entry fees. Triveni Cabs' airport page says tolls and parking are included in its fixed airport fares, yet its footer says they are extra at actuals, so ask what your quote covers. Our Innova cab page says its rental includes fuel, toll tax, driver allowance and GST, with parking and interstate taxes possibly extra. Have the Gulmarg quote list each item, say whether it is one way or a return and how many hours of waiting it covers. The gondola ticket is bought separately from the cab fare: Charzan Holidays says it is not in its cab fare, and our packages list it as an exclusion.
Operators such as Triveni Cabs and Travel My Kashmir list hotels, houseboats, Srinagar airport (SXR) and the railway station as pickup points; tell us yours when you ask for the quote. For flights, our airport taxi page says the driver waits at the arrival gate with a display board bearing your name and that a delayed flight moves the pickup at no extra charge. The airport is about 50 to 57 km from Gulmarg: Triveni Cabs and Vargis Khan say 50, Wikipedia 53, the Baramulla district page 54 and the J&K Tourism Development Corporation 57. For trains and roads see our how to reach Kashmir guide.
The road runs Srinagar, Narbal, Magam, Kunzer, Tangmarg and Gulmarg (Travel My Kashmir). Wikipedia describes a 12 km uphill stretch; Charzan Holidays gives the last leg as 13 km.
| Leg (Charzan Holidays) | Distance | Time |
|---|---|---|
| Srinagar to Magam | 25 km | about 35 minutes |
| Magam to Tangmarg | 13 km | about 20 minutes |
| Tangmarg to Gulmarg | 13 km | about 30 minutes |
| Whole route | 51 km | 1.5 to 2 hours, as the page states |
The Baramulla district page gives 54 km in one place and 60 km in another, and Wikipedia gives 56 km. Operator pages give 1.5 to 2 hours in normal conditions and eTourismKashmir 1.5 to 2.5 hours, longer after snowfall; Charzan Holidays adds 30 to 45 minutes in peak season, and our Gulmarg snowfall guide gives 2 to 3 hours in snow.
Yes, for the first ride. The Jammu & Kashmir Cable Car Corporation's boarding notice, start date 21 October 2026, says boarding begins at 8:30 am for Phase I and 9:15 am for Phase II; another notice in the same data, with no start date, says 8:00 am. By our own arithmetic, a drive of up to 2 hours means leaving Srinagar before 6:30 am to be in Gulmarg by 8:30. In winter, see the road-window note below before planning a pre-dawn start. The corporation also closes the gondola on the 2nd and 4th Monday of each month (notice start date 13 July 2026). Our gondola ticket page has the portal and closure dates; a night in Gulmarg removes the early start (see the 5N/6D Gulmarg stay).
Operators say usually not. Travel My Kashmir says Srinagar taxis may drop you at your hotel or the Gulmarg parking area but may not ferry tourists to local points such as the gondola station, Strawberry Valley or Botapathri; for those you walk, hire a pony or ATV, or book a local Gulmarg union cab. eTourismKashmir says outside cabs typically cannot do local sightseeing beyond designated points. Travel Coffee says current 2026 sources do not agree on one permanent handoff rule and advises asking your operator for the handoff point the evening before.
One official step: Greater Kashmir (dateline 26 March, published 27 March 2024) reports that the CEO Gulmarg and the Regional Transport Officer Kashmir said rates would be fixed for union cabs at Gulmarg and Tangmarg and that the rate list would be made public soon. Travel My Kashmir's Gulmarg union list runs from about ₹1,500 (sedan, local points) to ₹3,800 (SUV, Drung Waterfall return); eTourismKashmir expects ₹1,200 to ₹3,500 and above for union cabs, depending on route and season, and says they are mandatory for local sightseeing in Pahalgam, Sonamarg and parts of Gulmarg, with rates displayed at the stand. See also Gulmarg hotels and the ATV ride.
The climb above Tangmarg is where winter bites, and the official wording has changed between winters. Two of the SDM Gulmarg notices, as reported:
Our winter packages page lists five reported orders since January 2024, including a District Magistrate Baramulla order of 27 December 2024 that did not permit passenger buses beyond Tangmarg and did not allow tourist vehicles on the Tangmarg to Gulmarg road before 8 am or after 6 pm. It notes that the December 2025 and January 2026 reports it read do not repeat that window, so ask which rule applies on your dates.
Operators describe the effect. Travel My Kashmir says that from December to March heavy snowfall often blocks the last stretch, standard taxis cannot climb it when it does, and outside vehicles are usually stopped at Tangmarg. You then continue in a chained local vehicle: its taxi page names a Sumo or Bolero hired at the Tangmarg stand at about ₹2,000 to ₹3,000 return, and its union-stand page lists ₹1,200 to ₹1,600 one way. The same taxi page says that as of February 2026 the road is fully open to all types of vehicles, so whether your own car can go on depends on the date, its chains and the order in force. Our snowfall guide says our drivers carry chains. Nobody can promise snow, a clear road or a running lift; see our winter packages and Gulmarg best-time guide.
Book the taxi alone if your Srinagar hotels are sorted and you want one day in Gulmarg. Choose a package for the vehicle, stays and Gulmarg together: our 3N/4D quick getaway includes a Gulmarg day by private vehicle, and its own price table shows ₹11,950 per person for two travellers, ₹9,120 for four and ₹8,100 for six, with gondola tickets excluded. The Gulmarg destination guide covers the day itself.
Send the date, pickup point, travellers, bags, preferred vehicle and whether you want a same-day return or a night in Gulmarg through our contact page or WhatsApp and we reply with a quote; the contact page says a Srinagar planner replies within 30 minutes (its FAQ says 30 working minutes). Other routes are on our Kashmir taxi service page; read our safety page before any Kashmir trip.
Indicative market range from public operator pages, checked 25 October 2026. TDI confirms the exact fare on WhatsApp before you book.
| Vehicle | Seats | Basis | Typical range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sedan (Swift Dzire or Etios)Via Kashmir 2,400; Charzan 2,800 to 3,200. Vargis Khan's route table (a travel blog, not an operator) prints 2,000 to 2,800 without a one-way or return label, and Triveni Cabs prints 2,310 but its page also mentions a 300 km minimum billing, so neither is used for the range | 4 | One way, Srinagar to Gulmarg | ₹2,400 to ₹3,200 |
| Sedan (Swift Dzire or Etios)Charzan's 'Round Trip (Day)' column only; it does not say whether waiting is included. Vargis Khan's note says to add 500 to 800 for a same-day return, to cover driver waiting time and fuel; it does not say whether its route table is one way | 4 | Same-day round trip (Day), waiting not stated | ₹3,200 to ₹3,800 |
| Sedan (Swift Dzire or Etios)Vargis Khan's blog 2,200 to 2,800; Triveni Cabs 2,500. Neither page says one way or return; Triveni lists return transfers separately | 4 | Airport (SXR) to Gulmarg transfer | ₹2,200 to ₹2,800 |
| Innova or ErtigaVia Kashmir 2,900 (Innova or Ertiga); Charzan (Ertiga or Scorpio) 3,200 to 3,800. Vargis Khan's route table prints 3,200 to 3,800 for an SUV without a one-way or return label, so it is not used. Triveni Cabs prints 2,650 for an Ertiga, but its page mentions a 300 km minimum billing, so it is not used for the range | 7 | One way, Srinagar to Gulmarg | ₹2,900 to ₹3,800 |
| Innova or ErtigaCharzan (Ertiga or Scorpio) only | 7 | Same-day round trip (Day), waiting not stated | ₹3,800 to ₹4,500 |
| Innova or ErtigaVargis Khan's blog 3,200 to 3,800; Triveni Cabs 3,500 (SUV, up to 6 passengers). Basis not stated by either page | 7 | Airport (SXR) to Gulmarg transfer | ₹3,200 to ₹3,800 |
| Innova CrystaVia Kashmir 3,350; Charzan 3,500 to 4,200. Triveni Cabs prints 2,980, but its page mentions a 300 km minimum billing, so it is not used for the range | 7 | One way, Srinagar to Gulmarg | ₹3,350 to ₹4,200 |
| Innova CrystaCharzan only | 7 | Same-day round trip (Day), waiting not stated | ₹4,200 to ₹5,000 |
| Tempo TravellerOperators do not split 8, 14 and 17 seats consistently: Via Kashmir prints 4,800 for 17 seats; Charzan 5,500 to 7,000 for 8 to 12 seats | - | One way, Srinagar to Gulmarg | ₹4,800 to ₹7,000 |
| Tempo TravellerCharzan, 8 to 12 seats only | - | Same-day round trip (Day), waiting not stated | ₹7,000 to ₹9,000 |
| Tempo TravellerTriveni Cabs, 12 seats only; basis not stated | - | Airport (SXR) to Gulmarg transfer | ₹6,500 |
| Local union cab inside GulmargTravel My Kashmir's Gulmarg union list 1,500 (sedan, local points) to 3,800 (SUV, Drung Waterfall return); Car Rental Srinagar 3,500 a day; eTourismKashmir gives 1,200 to 3,500 and above per circuit for union cabs at Gulmarg (Tangmarg), Pahalgam and Sonamarg, depending on route and season. Read the rate board at the stand | - | Local sightseeing in Gulmarg, one vehicle | ₹1,500 to ₹3,800 |
| Chained 4x4 or Sumo, winterTravel My Kashmir 1,200 to 1,600; Car Rental Srinagar about 1,500; Vargis Khan 1,600 | - | Tangmarg to Gulmarg, one way | ₹1,200 to ₹1,600 |
| Chained 4x4 or Sumo, winterTravel My Kashmir 2,000 to 3,000; Car Rental Srinagar 2,500 to 3,000; Vargis Khan 2,500 | - | Tangmarg to Gulmarg, same-day return | ₹2,000 to ₹3,000 |
Sources: Charzan Holidays, Srinagar to Gulmarg distance and cab fare 2026 (post dated 10 March 2026; one-way and same-day return table), Via Kashmir, Srinagar to Gulmarg cab (fixed fares; no page date, footer 2026), Vargis Khan, Srinagar taxi rates 2026-2027 (travel blog; its text says updated November 2025, page dates inconsistent), Triveni Cabs, one-way cab from Srinagar to Gulmarg (sedan, Ertiga and Innova Crysta fares; page updated 14 September 2026), Triveni Cabs, Srinagar airport to Gulmarg taxi (page updated 14 September 2026), Travel My Kashmir, Srinagar to Gulmarg taxi (fare list headed 2026; one unlabelled figure per vehicle), Travel My Kashmir, Gulmarg union taxi stand rates (table labelled updated 2026), eTourismKashmir, cab services in Kashmir for tourists (no page date), Car Rental Srinagar, Gulmarg union taxi stand rates (page dated 31 October 2023).
No official tariff was found. Operators define one-way, return and airport trips differently and none prints a tariff signed by an authority, so compare the Basis column, not only the numbers. Gondola tickets are bought separately from the cab fare: Charzan Holidays says they are not included in its cab fare, and TDI's packages list them as an exclusion. Operator pages carry no uniform date: Charzan Holidays is dated 10 March 2026, the Triveni Cabs airport page says it was updated on 14 September 2026, Car Rental Srinagar's page is dated 31 October 2023, and Vargis Khan's blog carries inconsistent dates.
Facts last verified 25 October 2026. Conditions, fares and rules change: confirm anything that affects your booking with us on WhatsApp before you pay.
Operator pages, checked 25 October 2026, give about ₹2,400 to ₹3,200 one way for a sedan, ₹2,900 to ₹3,800 for an Innova or Ertiga, ₹3,350 to ₹4,200 for an Innova Crysta and ₹4,800 to ₹7,000 for a Tempo Traveller. These are market ranges, not an official or TDI tariff.
On Charzan Holidays' 2026 table a car's return is about ₹400 to ₹800 above its one-way fare, so well under double. Travel My Kashmir says finding a taxi back from Gulmarg can sometimes be expensive during peak hours. Ask whether the figure covers waiting at Gulmarg.
The Baramulla district page says about an hour and a half; operator pages say 1.5 to 2 hours (eTourismKashmir 1.5 to 2.5), and Charzan Holidays adds 30 to 45 minutes in peak season. Our snowfall guide gives 2 to 3 hours in snow. For an 8:30 am gondola boarding, leave early or stay the night.
Operators say it can drop you at your hotel or the parking area but not run local sightseeing, which goes to Gulmarg union cabs. Operators present it as a taxi-union rule and the pages cited here name no order, so ask when you book. eTourismKashmir says union cabs display their rates at the stand, so read the board before you agree.
None of the five orders we read says tourists must change vehicles at Tangmarg (see our winter packages page). A Kashmir Life report of 16 January 2026 says the SDM Gulmarg ordered chains on all vehicles on that road during snowfall and icy conditions, until further orders. Travel My Kashmir, an operator, says outside vehicles are usually stopped at Tangmarg from December to March, and its union-stand page lists Tangmarg to Gulmarg at ₹1,200 to ₹1,600 one way. Ask us about your dates.
Vargis Khan's travel blog lists sedan ₹2,200 to ₹2,800 and SUV ₹3,200 to ₹3,800 for about 50 km. Triveni Cabs prints ₹2,500 for a sedan, ₹3,500 for an SUV and ₹6,500 for a 12-seat Tempo Traveller. Distance sources run from 50 to 57 km. Send us your date, flight and group size for a quote.
Related
In their own words
Short video reviews recorded by travellers during and after their trips.




Free custom quote
Chat with our Kashmiri travel experts. No pressure, just honest advice from a team rooted here for generations — a custom itinerary and price within 30 minutes.
Free custom quote · Step 1 of 2
Enquiring about: Srinagar to Gulmarg Taxi: Fare, Time and Vehicles